Board of Commissioners

Michael Bodary Gloria C. Peterson  -  Jon R. Ichesco  -  Larry J. Doe  -  David Ostrowski

Agendas & Minutes  I  Meeting Schedule

Michael Bodary, Chair

City of Ypsilanti Resident

Michael Bodary was appointed to serve on the YCUA Board of Commissioners on August 21, 2012, by the Ypsilanti City Council. He was elected as Vice Chair of the Board on September 25, 2012, and then Chair on May 27, 2020.

Mr. Bodary is retired from his position as Senior Buyer and Facilities Coordinator in the Parking and Transportation Services Department of the University of Michigan. He holds a bachelor's degree in management from Cleary University.

Mr. Bodary served as an Ypsilanti City Council member for Ward 2 from 2008 through 2012. He was formerly active in public and community service through S.O.S. Community Crisis Center as a volunteer counselor, and as a referee and officer of the Michigan Intercollegiate Soccer Officials Association and the Michigan Referee Association. Mr. Bodary is a member of Measure for Measure, a men's choral association based in Ypsilanti.

Back to top

Gloria C. Peterson, Vice Chair
Ypsilanti Township Resident

Gloria C. Peterson was appointed to serve on the YCUA Board of Commissioners on March 3, 2020, by the Charter Township of Ypsilanti. She was elected as Vice Chair of the Board on July 26, 2023.

Ms. Peterson was born in Augusta Township and has lived most of her life in Ypsilanti. Her great, great grandparents settled in Ypsilanti around 1868 and her family has maintained a large presence in the area ever since. Ms. Peterson is a graduate of Ann Arbor Public Schools, the University of Michigan Labor Studies Center program, and the Michigan State University Labor Studies Center program. She is married to Ronnie D. Peterson.

Ms. Peterson is currently retired after a full and rewarding career with the University of Michigan, during which time she was active in the American Federation of State, County, and Municipal Employees (AFSCME) union. She served as the President of AFSCME Local 1583, representing approximately 2,600 university employees at the Ann Arbor, Flint, and Dearborn campuses and the Michigan Medicine Center.

In 2016, Ms. Peterson was elected to the Ypsilanti Township Parks Commission and served in that position for four years. She also serves on the Ypsilanti Township Planning Commission and is an alternate member of the Board of Review. Ms. Peterson has also served her community with the Washtenaw United Way Board of Directors, the Huron Valley Central Labor Council AFL-CIO, and Michigan AFSCME Council 25 State Council Board.

She has dedicated her adult life to serving her co-workers and her community. Whether it was as a member of leadership in organized labor, spearheading change on public boards, or as an appointed or elected member of municipal government, Ms. Peterson is a person of action – always seeking positive solutions to make her hometown a better place to live, work, and raise a family.

Back to top

Jon R. Ichesco, Secretary - Treasurer
City of Ypsilanti Resident

Jon R. Ichesco was appointed to serve on the YCUA Board of Commissioners on February 17, 2015 by the Ypsilanti City Council. He was elected as Secretary - Treasurer of the Board on February 25, 2015.

Mr. Ichesco is the former City of Ypsilanti Fire Chief, having retired in December of 2012 after 28 years of service within the department. He began working for the City of Ypsilanti in June of 1984 as a firefighter. In 1994, Mr. Ichesco became the Fire Marshal and in 2007, he was promoted to the position of Fire Chief. In honor of his retirement, Ypsilanti City Council presented Mr. Ichesco with a certificate and resolution commending him for his "unparalleled service" to the citizens of Ypsilanti.

Mr. Ichesco served as a delegate on the Michigan Fire Service Coalition for seven years (2004 - 2012) and is Past President of the Michigan Fire Inspectors Society (2004 - 2005) and the Michigan Joint Fire Service Council. He also has served on a committee to reorganize the Michigan Fire Marshal's office.

Locally, Mr. Ichesco was President of the Ypsilanti Firefighters' Association for eight years and President of the Washtenaw One Hundred Club, an organization that supports active police officers and firefighters. He was a driving force behind the creation of the Washtenaw Memorial Park, which was dedicated to the memories of fallen police officers and firefighters in Washtenaw County. He has also served on the City of Ypsilanti's Nuisance Abatement Team and Zoning Board of Appeals as well as the Washtenaw County Emergency Planning Commission.

"It’s been a pleasure and an honor to serve," Mr. Ichesco said. "It was fun serving people and that was my reward."

Back to top

Larry J. Doe, Commissioner
Ypsilanti Township Resident

Larry J. Doe has been a member of the YCUA Board of Commissioners since September of 2001 and served as its Chair from October 26, 2004, until February 26, 2008.

Mr. Doe served as Ypsilanti Township Treasurer for 20 years (2000 - 2020). He is an active participant with several community organizations such as the Salvation Army Board, Washtenaw 100 Club, Kiwanis Club, Ypsi Pride, Gilbert Residence Board of Directors, Meals on Wheels, and the Heritage Festival Board. Past involvement includes the Ypsilanti Township Planning Commission, Ypsilanti Visitors and Convention Bureau, Ypsilanti Area Community Fund and the Chamber of Commerce to name a few.

He has been an Ypsilanti Township resident for 67 years and retired in January of 1999 after 37 years employment at Ford Motor Company. Mr. Doe and his wife, Fran, have three children and one grandson and they attend the Presbyterian Church of Ypsilanti.

Back to top

David Ostrowski, Commissioner

Ypsilanti Township Resident

David Ostrowski was appointed to serve on the YCUA Board of Commissioners on May 16, 2023 by Charter Township of Ypsilanti.

Mr. Ostrowski has been an Ypsilanti Township resident for 54 years. He retired in July 2010 after 12 years of employment at Ford Motor Company. Prior to his employment at Ford Motor Company, he was employed by Motor Wheel Corporation (Ypsilanti Plant) for 31 years until its closing in September 1997. He was an active union member of UAW Local 782 serving his membership as a Vice President, Financial Secretary-Treasurer, and Bargaining Committee Chairman. He holds associate degrees in public administration and quality control management from Washtenaw Community College.

Mr. Ostrowski served as an Ypsilanti Township Trustee for 12 years (3 non-consecutive 4-year terms). Mr. Ostrowski has also served Ypsilanti Township in many additional capacities which include but are not limited to Solid Waste Management Committee (Chairman), Police Services Committee (Chairman), Planning Commission, and Zoning Board of Appeals. He is active in the community serving as the Coordinator for Gault Village, Nancy Park, and the Shady Knoll Neighborhood Watch Association. He has served 6 years as an Executive Advisory Board Member of the New West Willow Neighborhood Association which is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization.

Mr. Ostrowski is an avid sports enthusiast. He also enjoys listening to all varieties of music from classical, country, jazz, and especially to all the eras of rock and roll. Mr. Ostrowski and his wife, Diane, have three children and four grandchildren and belong to St. John the Baptist Catholic Church of Ypsilanti.

Mr. Ostrowski feels that public service is a privilege and is greatly honored to serve his community and the Charter Township of Ypsilanti as a YCUA commissioner.

Back to top